NicXvapor’s BAM V2 Review

NicXvapor
by NicXvapor
25 Comments
December 28, 2012
The author's views below are his or her own and may not reflect the views of Ecig Advanced

I’ve been checking out the BAM V2 lately and wanted to share what I’ve found thus far.

The BAM is very interesting to me. I was able to get one for a fair-er price than full and decided that since I missed out on the Vape for Free section that I was going to go for this one. I managed to get a blue BAM with a black button which came with the necessary battery sleeve for the 18350′s and 18650′s as well as the Kick adapter and, to my surprise, a little “BAM” tote bag.

I was thrilled to get this one in the mail as I’m typically not one for small, lightweight, easily concealable PV’s/APV’s. I’m just obnoxious like that I guess. I really liked the weight of this mod immediately. It’s heavy an when it’s in any of my pockets I can’t lose it.

Given that I’ve fallen in love with my AGA-T RBA I decided that this mod had to be reviewed using it. I connected the two after installing an Ultrafire 18650 @ 3,000mAh and was almost loving the entire setup right away. Both pieces are nice and heavy, they looked good together, what could go wrong? I say almost because I noticed the vapor was light and I was hardly getting anything off of it no matter how hard I drew on my atty. When I removed the RBA I found that the post/pos pin had been pushed up too far and no longer made a proper connection. I pushed the pin back down, putting the seal back into place and connected it slower this time while holding the button down on the BAM. This mostly went well as I got great vapor coming off of my atty but as I tightened it down again it stopped. I had to reset the pin again. This got frustrating quickly. I remembered I had an air flow regulator for a DCT that I hadn’t even tried yet (yes I know the RBA doesn’t take air from the threading area). I connected this piece under my RBA and attempted to connect to the BAM again, I still can’t get it connected tightly without losing function but it seemed to fit better. It was now more stable, the regulator fit well enough on the AGA-T that it almost looked like it belonged there and while that made the setup taller it ended up looking better anyway.

One thing I do enjoy about this mod is that it can take 1x 18350, 1x 18650 or 1x 26650 battery and any of them can be flat or button top plus it has room for the Kick option. I don’t have a Kick or any battery that this mod can take other than an 18650 but for me it’s not about whether or not I have these items but more about “CAN I use them”. I like the answer here. I am ordering 26650′s to try out on this mod and I look forward to seeing what I end up with at that point. If I get my hands on a Kick later, I’ll put in this mod first thing. For those of you using batteries that vent, the BAM is also vented at the bottom via a fair sized hole.

Many out there still don’t know what the difference is between the BAM V1 vs. V2. They aren’t worlds apart. They both have the same battery options, size, look. But the big difference is in the Kick adapter. On the V1, the Kick adapter more or less floated in place. On the V2, the inside of the top of the mod and the adapter are both threaded to better hold the device in place.

The only other thing that really stood out to me was the button. It’s a flat, black, metal button. I think it looks nicer and goes well with the blue color they used. The button is quite springy though. It has a good bit of travel to it for something that activates the mod so quickly. I thought perhaps it was broken at first but that’s just the way this one works.

All in all, I still find myself praising this mod. The connection issue is a pain but I can live with it. It still fires very well and I like the size, shape, weight and overall look of this very versatile mod. Past that though, I enjoy how appropriately this mod is named; BAM! It gets your attention and gives you a chuckle when you find out that BAM stands for “Big Ass Mod”.

Thanks for reading and I’ll soon have a video review of this mod posted. The only drawback to that is that you’ll see and hear me in the video and I’ll no longer be able to hide behind a keyboard. ;)

Happy Vaping folks!

Comments

25 Responses to “NicXvapor’s BAM V2 Review”

  1. mongrel on December 28th, 2012 5:15 pm

    Great review, I’ve heard great things about the BAM, and I’m guessing you’ll get days of good vaping with the 26650, the fact that it’s designed for the kick is also a nice benefit.

    Just curious was the center post problem more with the AGA-T, or do you think the BAM 510 connector is just a bit too deep causing this problem?

  2. NicXvapor on December 28th, 2012 5:21 pm

    mongrel, I think the connector on the BAM is too deep. I use the AGA-T on a VV tube and have used it on my own mods as well without having a problem.

  3. L.B. Jeffries on December 28th, 2012 5:25 pm

    Thanks for the honest review, Nic. Would love to have a 26650 capable PV. Infrequent charging is always a blessing. The seamless look of the BAM is pretty sweet too. Also, glad to hear the AGA-T is working so well for you.

    Btw, what’s wrong with hiding behind a keyboard?? ;) (I do, in fact, look forward to the video)

  4. Johnathan Brown on December 28th, 2012 9:58 pm

    Thanks a ton for the review. I REALLY wanna get my hands on one of these and buy a kick and a 26650 battery to constantly blast my face off with some vape-nirvana. V2 looks awesome!

  5. saboinia on December 29th, 2012 3:19 am

    great info i wan one now

  6. Alex on December 29th, 2012 4:17 am

    Kinda want one now =]

  7. Philippe on December 29th, 2012 10:57 am

    Thank!

  8. Anthony on December 29th, 2012 11:53 am

    Id like to have one.. Lol :P

  9. Donald Hammond on December 29th, 2012 1:54 pm

    Great review. My wife has a BAM. She really likes it. I think I prefer a VV mod but with a KICK it;s great. Just needs a little more power for me. Great battery life with a 26650 though.

  10. tiffjamesnjj on December 30th, 2012 1:34 am

    thanks for the review… I am sti new to the word of mods, and honestly think that I am happy where I am at :)

  11. Nathaniel on December 30th, 2012 3:19 am

    Sounds nice might pick one up if my ego dies.

  12. slap_maxwell on December 30th, 2012 7:11 am

    Thorough, tell-it-like-it-is review. Awesome! I might need to go out prowling for one of these when the sun goes down….

  13. ghostdogg79 on December 30th, 2012 9:08 pm

    I want a BAM….fo real.

  14. robovape on December 30th, 2012 9:40 pm

    great review Nic (Troy ;) ), thanks… i’m assuming that even though it comes with the adaptor it doesn’t come with the Kick?

  15. NicXvapor on December 30th, 2012 10:04 pm

    Yes, you are correct in that assumption Robovape. It comes with a kick adapter but does not come with a Kick.

    I’d like to thank all of you for the responses to this review. I really appreciate them a lot!

  16. Karla Lyle (MsV8PR) on December 31st, 2012 11:52 am

    Love my Bam too. Just need to get me a big ass battery now for y big ass mod ;)

  17. che170 on December 31st, 2012 12:47 pm

    Hi NicX, Do you sell the Kick? And is everything, including the very large battery fire protected? Is the battery rechargable? Do you sell the charger or does this come in a kit of some sort? I am pretty new to the vaping world, just got an go 1100mah kit and a 650passthrough batt. BUT, when I upgrade, which I hope is soon, I’ll need to know all these things. Oh, and is it variable voltage? Thanks Nic, Cheryl Lanner

  18. NicXvapor on December 31st, 2012 5:47 pm

    Cheryl,

    Currently we do not sell the Kick. We don’t have a huge hardware inventory at all right now but will happily do a custom order. We have chargers that will charge our 18650′s and below but we’re having to order the 26650′s (and chargers) for the BAM and some custom mods I’m working on so it’s just the wait time on the batteries that sucks. Also, the BAM itself is not a variable voltage device.

  19. Chad on January 1st, 2013 7:55 pm

    Do you think it’s worth the price?

  20. robovape on January 2nd, 2013 4:40 am

    thanks Nic, nice that they sell it easily adaptable though, it’s a popular item from what i gather…

  21. saboinia on January 2nd, 2013 12:12 pm

    dang nabbit there is no drooling smilie…….i want one that badly

  22. NicXvapor on January 2nd, 2013 5:34 pm

    Chad,

    The BAM isn’t cheap. I was only willing to spend the money on this one because I got it at a “scratch and dent” price. The BAM runs about $120 and for that price I would expect more. If I’d paid that for it I’d be ticked about my fav atty not sitting better on it. I wasn’t thrilled that I spent so much and had that issue to begin with. Given the battery options though and what came with it in my case, I’d have liked to have spent a little less but I am very pleased with this purchase still. If you can pickup a V2 for $70 or less without batteries then I say go for it. It is a solid mod and the other stuff I connect to it has done well. I still use it frequently and I can’t wait to get a 26650 in it. If I can get a great deal on a Kick, I’m sure I’ll enjoy using that in it too. I am proud to have this mod. Just watch for deals on it.

  23. Chris on January 9th, 2013 3:10 pm

    Thank you for the review! I’ve been looking at getting one of these for the huge battery life with the 26650.

  24. Aydinn on January 10th, 2013 5:24 am

    I like the idea of the BAM but don’t think I would own one. In this day and age it’s hard to justify a mechanical mod over $100.

  25. brianwilson on February 1st, 2013 6:40 pm

    You are making everyone want one…including me ! Nice post.

Feel free to leave a comment...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!





105 queries in 0.390